top of page

Behind the Scenes: Zootopia

You can't get anywhere if you don't ask. Two months ago I had the amazing opportunity to interview one of Disney's newest art directors. It all started when I received an email in my inbox that Zootopia's director of environments would be coming to my area to speak about his design process. On a whim, I jumped aboard the opportunity. I arrived at the event early with one question: would it be possible to interview the speaker after the talk? The rest is history.

Completely professional and humble, Matthias Lechner shared his story with me of his journey from Germany to the Disney studios in California, as well as his thought process behind designing the sets of Zootopia. If you're interested in reading the full story, you can read the article here.

18 views
bottom of page